a good thursday night

What a time to be alive.

Tonight after the long drive home from work and picking up the kid from my sister’s place, flipping through the channels I find that the polarizing Batman v. Superman is on. I, personally, like this one and really enjoy the warehouse fight where Bat-Fleck effectively fucks up everyone in the best Batman fight sequence ever filmed. (these are my opinions).

Unfortunately, that scene had already passed but the point where Doomsday is wreaking havoc on a deserted island between Metropolis and Gotham is on and Diana Prince/Wonder Woman sees it on the plane television and leaves to help.

at that point, right when Doomsday is on screen my kid stops and asks, “who’s that?”

“That’s Doomsday” I explain, “he’s a bad guy, oh look? Who’s that?” I say enthusiastically pointing to the TV. Batman in his own Bat-Jet appears and my kids very excitedly exclaims,

“BATMAN!”

My kid loves batman and hasn’t seen anything Batman before outside what I’ve told him. Is he a little young to watch BvS? Probably, yes; but he loves superheroes and he loves Batman and Superman.

Superman appears and begins to punch Doomsday into space and I can see the wonder in my kids eyes. He’s entranced and excited. He actually gets to see Batman and Superman do their thing.

I tell him, “someone really cool is coming, just wait.”

Batman is hit, his Bat-jet is on the ground and Doomsday is charging up for the kill. The red beams of energy are fired right at Batman when at the last second he’s saved, not by Superman, Wonder Woman.

She lowers her gauntlets and her kick-ass them begins to play and my kid’s eyes haven’t left the screen. He’s just had his first introduction to one of the most bad-ass women in comics and it was when she saved his favorite superhero from the monster. It was awesome, it was amazing and I can’t think of a better way for her introduction to my kid. A better introduction to the best superhero team thats ever existed. Batman, Superman, and Wonder Woman.

My Son gets to grow up with these heroes all interacting, working together and doing good. It really is a time to be alive and I’m so excited to get to share these moments with him.

Leave a Reply

